The Demon in Business Class

· Polyglot Content Company · Narrated by Laura Petersen
5.0
8 reviews
Audiobook
18 hr 26 min
Unabridged
Eligible
Want a free 1 hr 50 min sample? Listen anytime, even offline. 
Add

About this audiobook

She can speak all languages. He can smell evil intent.

They're enemies. They crave each other.

Secret magic, international settings, a conspiracy plot, star-crossed lovers, and sharp writing -- The Demon in Business Class is a stunning debut novel spanning continents and genres.

Zarabeth travels the world for a shady executive, laying the groundwork for global war.

Gabriel offers a second chance to the criminals that a visionary leader sees in dreams.

One rainy night in Scotland, they meet...

Now, it's complicated.

There's also the investigator, the witch, the playboy, the gangster, the cultist, the pre-school teacher, the two angels...

And, the demon.

Fans of Jeff VanderMeer and David Mitchell will love this stylish cross-genre novel. Gorgeously narrated by Laura Petersen, The Demon in Business Class is an international story of fantasy, intrigue, and love, on the uneasy ground where the human meets the divine.

YOUR NEXT READ IS NOW BOARDING -- Listen now!

"If William Gibson wrote paranormal .... weaves the dark worlds of the occult and big business into an intoxicating tale." – D. J. Butler, author of Witchy Eye

"Creative spark? Anthony Dobranski ignites a creative bonfire ...A masterwork of invention." – Mary Kay Zuravleff, author of Man Alive!

"... a swank cocktail of international intrigue, steeped in the supernatural, mixed with literary flair .... so sleek it flies...." - Zach Powers, author of First Cosmic Velocity

5.0
8 reviews
Steve Gaitten
August 27, 2020
I'm not sure how to classify this book. It's some unique flavor of sci-fi / fantasy / horror / suspense / thriller. It's also a love story. In general, I recommend this book for good storytelling. The author has created a cast of characters that are very real. You'll care about them, root for them and wish you could follow their lives further once this story is over. The story is fast-paced. Suspense is achieved through the rhythm of switching perspectives between dual protagonists. This world feels like our reality, except there's a little more going on than we've been allowed to know. Some revelations are exciting and attractive, some are banal and disgusting. The reader, Laura Peterson does an incredible job with this book. She voices dozens of characters and almost as many accents ranging from Lower Kentucky to Mandarin Chinese. Her read is an incredible performance, independent of the text, as much actress as orator. I was fully consumed with this book while reading it. I was sad for days when the story was over. The characters have stayed with me, especially Zarabeth & Gabriel. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.
Did you find this helpful?
Simbby Saliu
December 29, 2020
Oh wow this was an amazing read,i truly enjoyed listening, it is a fantasy that is act Written in a finely-chiseled style with vivid imagery, The Demon in Business Class draws you into a world of demons and witches who intermingle with the corporate suits. Gabriel and Zarabeth get under your skin as quickly as they get under each other’s. Theirs is a high-voltage relationship drawn in visceral detail… They come to realize the stakes are high, Heaven vs. Hell high., I wish I could write more.
Did you find this helpful?
B Dubbs
December 25, 2020
This was a great read for me. I love crime stories, horror and sci-fi stories and this is a bit of a blend. I really enjoyed the variety of characters in this book and their personalities, they were unique while ensuring they added substance to the storyline. I would definitely recommend. The book is a bit long but does not leaving you lingering or disappoint. It keeps you interested wanting to know what happen to this person and why are they where they are along they way. I love being intrigued and letting my mind wonder a bit, this book allows for this to happen.
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Anthony Dobranski is a native of the Washington, DC area and lives in the city now. After studying English Literature at Yale, he made his first career at the internet company AOL, working in Western Europe and Asia-Pacific. His first novel is The Demon in Business Class, a literary modern fantasy. He is also the creator of the game Business Class Tarot, inspired by this novel. Find Anthony Dobranski online at: http://anthonydobranski.com

Rate this audiobook

Tell us what you think.

Listening information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.