Clay Water Brick: Finding Inspiration from Entrepreneurs Who Do the Most with the Least

Sold by Spiegel & Grau
1
Free sample

In the tradition of Kabul Beauty School and Start Something That Matters comes an inspiring story of social entrepreneurship from the co-founder of Kiva, the first online microlending platform for the working poor. Featuring lessons learned from successful businesses in the world’s poorest countries, Jessica Jackley’s Clay Water Brick will motivate readers to more deeply appreciate the incredible entrepreneurial potential that exists in every human being on this planet—especially themselves.

“The heart of entrepreneurship is never about what we have. It’s about what we do.”
 
Meet Patrick, who had next to nothing and started a thriving business using just the ground beneath his feet . . .
 
Blessing, who built her shop right in the middle of the road, refusing to take the chance that her customers might pass her by . . .
 
Constance, who cornered the banana market in her African village with her big personality and sense of mission.
 
Patrick, Blessing, Constance, and many others are among the poorest of the world’s poor. And yet they each had crucial lessons to teach Jessica Jackley—lessons about resilience, creativity, perseverance, and, above all, entrepreneurship.
 
For as long as she could remember, Jackley, the co-founder of the revolutionary microlending site Kiva, had a singular and urgent ambition: to help alleviate global poverty. While in her twenties, she set off for Africa to finally meet the people she had long dreamed of helping. The insights of those she met changed her understanding. Today she believes that many of the most inspiring entrepreneurs in the world are not focused on high-tech ventures or making a lot of money; instead, they wake up every day and build better lives for themselves, their families, and their communities, regardless of the things they lack or the obstacles they encounter. As Jackley puts it, “The greatest entrepreneurs succeed not because of what they possess but because of what they are determined to do.”
 
In Clay Water Brick, Jackley challenges readers to embrace entrepreneurship as a powerful force for change in the world. She shares her own story of founding Kiva with little more than a laptop and a dream, and the stories and the lessons she has learned from those across the globe who are doing the most with the least.
 
Praise for Clay Water Brick
 
“Jessica Jackley didn’t wait for permission to change the world—she just did it. It turns out that you can too.”—Seth Godin, author of What to Do When It’s Your Turn
 
“Fascinating . . . gripping . . . bursting with lessons . . . Jessica Jackley has written a remarkable book . . . so thoroughly well meaning and engagingly put it is too magnetic to put down.”Financial Times

Clay Water Brick is a tremendously inspiring read. Jessica Jackley, the virtuoso co-founder of the revolutionary microlending platform Kiva, shares uplifting stories and compelling lessons on entrepreneurship, resilience, and character.”—Adam Grant, author of Give and Take
 
“A blueprint for anyone who wants to make the world a better place and find fulfillment in the process, no matter how scarce their resources or how steep the challenge.”—Arianna Huffington

“This book is inspirational. And honest and practical. . . . Well written, thoughtful: a selfless account of how to succeed by doing right and following your heart.”Booklist
Read more

About the author

Jessica Jackley is an award-winning social entrepreneur focused on financial inclusion, the sharing economy, and social justice. She is best known as a co-founder of Kiva, the world’s first and largest P2P microlending website. She also co-founded ProFounder, a pioneering crowdfunding platform for U.S. entrepreneurs, and Kin & Co., a consultancy helping organizations support women and working families. She is an investor and advisor with Collaborative Fund, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and a World Economic Forum Young Global Leader. An active board member for several nonprofit organizations including Habitat for Humanity, Jackley holds an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business, a certificate in Global Leadership and Public Policy from the Harvard Kennedy School, and a BA from Bucknell University. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband and three sons.
Read more
5.0
1 total
Loading...

Additional Information

Publisher
Spiegel & Grau
Read more
Published on
Jun 23, 2015
Read more
Pages
224
Read more
ISBN
9780679643784
Read more
Language
English
Read more
Genres
Business & Economics / Entrepreneurship
Business & Economics / Motivational
Social Science / Developing & Emerging Countries
Read more
Content Protection
This content is DRM protected.
Read more
Eligible for Family Library

Reading information

Smartphones and Tablets

Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.

Laptops and Computers

You can read books purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.

eReaders and other devices

To read on e-ink devices like the Sony eReader or Barnes & Noble Nook, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Please follow the detailed Help center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.
In a book perfect for readers of Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, David Eagleman’s Incognito, and Leonard Mlodinow’s Subliminal, the cognitive neuroscientists who discovered how the brain has aha moments—sudden creative insights—explain how they happen, when we need them, and how we can have more of them to enrich our lives and empower personal and professional success.
 
Eureka or aha moments are sudden realizations that expand our understanding of the world and ourselves, conferring both personal growth and practical advantage. Such creative insights, as psychological scientists call them, were what conveyed an important discovery in the science of genetics to Nobel laureate Barbara McClintock, the melody of a Beatles ballad to Paul McCartney, and an understanding of the cause of human suffering to the Buddha. But these moments of clarity are not given only to the famous. Anyone can have them.
 
In The Eureka Factor, John Kounios and Mark Beeman explain how insights arise and what the scientific research says about stimulating more of them. They discuss how various conditions affect the likelihood of your having an insight, when insight is helpful and when deliberate methodical thought is better suited to a task, what the relationship is between insight and intuition, and how the brain’s right hemisphere contributes to creative thought.
 
Written in a lively, engaging style, this book goes beyond scientific principles to offer productive techniques for realizing your creative potential—at home and at work. The authors provide compelling anecdotes to illustrate how eureka experiences can be a key factor in your life. Attend a dinner party with Christopher Columbus to learn why we need insights. Go to a baseball game with the director of a classic Disney Pixar movie to learn about one important type of aha moment. Observe the behind-the-scenes arrangements for an Elvis Presley concert to learn why the timing of insights is crucial.
 
Accessible and compelling, The Eureka Factor is a fascinating look at the human brain and its seemingly infinite capacity to surprise us.
 
Praise for The Eureka Factor
 
“Delicious . . . In The Eureka Factor, neuroscientists John Kounios and Mark Beeman give many other examples of [a] kind of lightning bolt of insight, but back this up with the latest brain-imaging research.”—Newsweek
 
“An incredible accomplishment . . . [The Eureka Factor] is not just a chronicle of the journey that numerous scientists (including the authors) have taken to examine insight but is also a fascinating guide to how advances in science are made in general. Messrs. Kounios and Beeman examine how a parade of clever experiments can be designed to answer specific questions and rule out alternative possibilities. . . . Wonderful ideas appear as if out of nowhere—and we are delighted.”—The Wall Street Journal

“An excellent title for those interested in neuroscience or creativity . . . The writing is engaging and readable, mixing stories of famous perceptions with explanations of how such revelations happen.”—Library Journal (starred review)
 
“A lively and accessible ‘brain’ book with wide appeal.”—Booklist

“[An] ingenious, thoughtful update on how the mind works.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“The Eureka Factor presents a fascinating and illuminating account of the creative process and how to foster it.”—James J. Heckman, Nobel laureate in economics


From the Hardcover edition.
  「看到這麼多人用自己的力量脫離貧困,這是一件多麼美好的事!」─本書作者潔西卡.賈克莉

  「本書敘述了許多從沒有人說過的人性故事……,以全球觀點來思考創業精神,和商業在驅動世界更美好的力量中所扮演的角色。」──TOMS 創辦人兼捐鞋長(Chief Shoe Giver)《TOMS Shoes:穿一雙鞋,改變世界》(Start Something That Matters)作者布雷克.麥考斯基(Blake Mycoskie)

  真正的幫助未必是施捨,而是給別人一個尊嚴、一個機會,
  讓他們靠自己的力量改變自己的未來,也讓世界開始改變。
  賈克莉的創舉,幫助了世界上眾多貧困但勤奮的創業家,
  也告訴了我們,有關毅力、創造力、堅忍,以及最重要的:創業精神。

  賈克莉從小就胸懷大志要幫助窮人,她完全沒有任何商業基礎知識或投資概念,卻在二十九歲這年,憑著一股熱情和勇氣創辦了世界第一個微型貸款網站Kiva,透過網路跟陌生人募集小額的資金,再把資金借給世界各地最需要幫助的勤奮創業家。

  賈克莉不斷推廣「資助別人創業以脫離貧困」的觀點,這個理念不僅讓她成為歐普拉脫口秀的節目嘉賓、TED演講的常客,也受邀擔任史丹佛大學的客座講師。她在書中暢談令人感動的創業家故事:像是一筆不大的資金讓烏干達的派屈克可以用腳下的泥土燒製泥磚創業;讓凱瑟琳得以到一百公里外的維多利亞湖邊,直接跟漁民購買鮮魚回到村子裡販售;讓坦尚尼亞的卜萊辛得以開一間歡迎每位顧客的小雜貨店;讓巴西里約的萊拉和琪卡自創了一家美髮沙龍等等。

  賈克莉相信,舉世最鼓舞人心的創業家並不是高科技創投,也並非一心一意以賺錢為己任的那些人。她也鼓勵讀者,把創業精神當成改變世界的力量,她分享自己只靠一台筆電和一個夢想創立Kiva的過程,也訴說全球各地以最少資源發揮最大績效的創業家故事。因為愛與信任,這個世界開始不一樣了。我們對於貧窮的看法,也終究不一樣了。


「看到這麼多人用自己的力量脫離貧困,這是一件多麼美好的事!」

──本書作者潔西卡.賈克莉

 

「本書敘述了許多從沒有人說過的人性故事……,以全球觀點來思考創業精神,和商業在驅動世界更美好的力量中所扮演的角色。」

──TOMS 創辦人兼捐鞋長(Chief Shoe Giver)《TOMS Shoes:穿一雙鞋,改變世界》(Start Something That Matters)作者布雷克.麥考斯基(Blake Mycoskie)

 

真正的幫助未必是施捨,而是給別人一個尊嚴、一個機會,

讓他們靠自己的力量改變自己的未來,也讓世界開始改變。

賈克莉的創舉,幫助了世界上眾多貧困但勤奮的創業家,

也告訴了我們,有關毅力、創造力、堅忍,以及最重要的:創業精神。

 

賈克莉從小就胸懷大志要幫助窮人,她完全沒有任何商業基礎知識或投資概念,卻在二十九歲這年,憑著一股熱情和勇氣創辦了世界第一個微型貸款網站Kiva,透過網路跟陌生人募集小額的資金,再把資金借給世界各地最需要幫助的勤奮創業家。

 

賈克莉不斷推廣「資助別人創業以脫離貧困」的觀點,這個理念不僅讓她成為歐普拉脫口秀的節目嘉賓、TED演講的常客,也受邀擔任史丹佛大學的客座講師。她在書中暢談令人感動的創業家故事:像是一筆不大的資金讓烏干達的派屈克可以用腳下的泥土燒製泥磚創業;讓凱瑟琳得以到一百公里外的維多利亞湖邊,直接跟漁民購買鮮魚回到村子裡販售;讓坦尚尼亞的卜萊辛得以開一間歡迎每位顧客的小雜貨店;讓巴西里約的萊拉和琪卡自創了一家美髮沙龍等等。

 

賈克莉相信,舉世最鼓舞人心的創業家並不是高科技創投,也並非一心一意以賺錢為己任的那些人。她也鼓勵讀者,把創業精神當成改變世界的力量,她分享自己只靠一台筆電和一個夢想創立Kiva的過程,也訴說全球各地以最少資源發揮最大績效的創業家故事。因為愛與信任,這個世界開始不一樣了。我們對於貧窮的看法,也終究不一樣了。

 

 

【各方佳評】

「本書敘述了許多從沒有人說過的人性故事,扣人心弦,邀請讀者放開眼界,以全球觀點來思考創業精神,和商業在驅動世界更美好的力量中所扮演的角色。賈克莉分享她自己的創業歷程,展現世界各地一群了不起的創業家和他們堅忍不拔的面貌,捕捉了創業家的靈魂與心,讓所有的讀者都深受感動。不論你有心追求自己的夢想,或是願意協助創業家,或者純是一般大眾,都能獲得啟發。」

 ──TOMS 創辦人兼捐鞋長(Chief Shoe Giver)《TOMS Shoes:穿一雙鞋,改變世界》 (Start Something That Matters)作者布雷克.麥考斯基(Blake Mycoskie) 

 

「要改變世界,不必等別人准許──賈克莉能身體力行,你也辦得到。」

──《大聲牛》(The Big Moo)、《機會來時該做什麼》(What to Do When It's Your Turn)作者賽斯.高汀(Seth Godin)

 

「本書發人深省,畫時代的微型貸款平台Kiva共同創辦人賈克莉和讀者分享振奮人心的故事,以及創業精神、適應力、和堅強個性的典範。

 ──《給予:華頓商學院最啟發人心的一堂課》(Give and Take)作者亞當.格蘭特(Adam Grant)

 

「賈克莉僅僅憑著一個夢想和許多的決心創辦了Kiva,這個組織讓舉世成千上萬的人獲得力量。本書敘述了她個人投身創業之路的漫長旅程,任何願意讓這世界更美好的人,不論他們的資源多麼稀少,挑戰多麼艱難,都可以此為藍圖,在過程中獲得滿足與成就。」

──《赫芬頓郵報》創辦人亞麗安娜.赫芬頓(Arianna Huffington)

 

「本書見解深刻,深具啟發性,教人忍不住一口氣讀完。本書值得任何有志創業的人奉為圭臬。」

──《一枝鉛筆的承諾》(The Promise of a Pencil)作者亞當‧博朗(Adam Braun)

 

「資本和豐富的資源並非創新的關鍵,賈克莉證明了這點。她在世界各地接觸的創業家,有些人的故事教人匪夷所思,卻啟發我們看到先前未能見到的機會。」

──《先問,為什麼?啟動你的感召領導力》(Start with Why)作者賽門.西奈克  (Simon Sinek)

 

「對任何追求更有意義人生的人,賈克莉的故事都是啟迪的藍圖──而且好消息是,你可以由今天就開始。讀它,分享它,討論它。」

──《喀布爾美容學校》 (Kabul Beauty School)作者黛博拉.羅瑞葵(Deborah Rodriguez)

 

 

 

【名人推薦】

朱平(肯夢AVEDA創辦人)

余宛如(立法委員)

林以涵(社企流執行長)

陳東升(臺大社會系特聘教授)

©2018 GoogleSite Terms of ServicePrivacyDevelopersArtistsAbout Google|Location: United StatesLanguage: English (United States)
By purchasing this item, you are transacting with Google Payments and agreeing to the Google Payments Terms of Service and Privacy Notice.