Other People's Marriages: A gripping and emotional family drama

· Bookouture
4.7
14 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

As I stood at my own birthday party, listening to my husband’s speech about me, I could no longer silence the thought that had started as a low-level hum five years ago and built until I could no longer ignore it… did I want to leave him?


Steph has spent decades building a family with her husband Mal, and putting that family first. She is the glue that holds them all together and she has convinced herself that she’s been happy… most of the time. But as she stands at her birthday party watching her husband talking about a wonderful marriage she doesn’t fully recognise, the doubts that she has been pushing down for so long begin to grow…


After the party, as Steph tries to gather her courage to leave Mal, she receives a letter from her old friend Evie. Steph hasn’t spoken to Evie since a sunny weekend on a holiday beach twenty years earlier, when the two friends said things to each other that could never be unsaid. And now, Evie is seeking a reunion and a way to repair the friendship. But this reunion threatens to reveal a secret that could destroy two families.


Other People’s Marriages is an absolutely unputdownable and heartbreaking read about the lies we tell to keep our loved ones close. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.


Readers are loving Other People’s Marriages:


A book I absolutely raced through, needing to know how it would all end! I tried to slow down because the story itself was fantastic… I'm sure this will be a favorite beach read of 2021!!!!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


‘I had a few books on my list to read before this one but yesterday I thought I’d take a quick peek. Well, hours later and I’d devoured the whole thing! Fabulous family drama… will tear at your heart. I was so engrossed… I was not aware until the story ended. The writing is exquisite. It feels like you are living in the book. Such a great story.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Great!... So engaging, wonderful, entertaining, thought-provoking, and will leave readers feeling emotional… lovedHad an awesome time reading this!’ Goodreads reviewer


Phenomenal blew my expectations out of the water.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


I really enjoyed it!a fantastic tale… Kerry Fisher's storytelling is just so good it totally resonated with me.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘I love Kerry Fisher's books but this one has jumped to be my new favourite.’ BookBucket


A wonderful novel!!… A really good read’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars


I want these women as my friends!!!… I really enjoyed this… a compelling read.’ Goodreads reviewer

Ratings and reviews

4.7
14 reviews
Suzi Makowski
July 16, 2021
“Other People’s Marriages” opens with Steph’s 60th birthday, an occasion where she finds herself musing over the state of her life, her dull marriage, and her friendships. Although Steph, Teresa, and Evie are as different as can be when they meet as young mothers in 1980, the three women forge a strong friendship. The story alternates between present day and past instances that highlight the ups and downs of their relationships and the evolution of the women themselves. Although this novel is ostensibly about marriage and how you never truly know the innermost workings of someone else’s relationship, the decades-spanning friendship is the star of the story. It’s a treat to see women’s friendship so beautifully written. Kerry Fisher is very skillful at characterization, and “Other People’s Marriages” is no exception. The three women feel real and relatable, and you’ll wish you could be friends with them too. You’ll feel drawn to Steph’s free spirit just as much as Teresa and Evie were back in 1985. I really enjoyed this book, which shares plenty of life lessons on life, love, and forgiveness. It’s a compelling read that packs an emotional punch.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Tracy Grant
August 3, 2021
Absolutely loved this book! Believable characters and events and whilst thought provoking and sometimes sad, Kerry's sense of humour still very much in the mix.
Did you find this helpful?
ReadAlongWithSue Ward
July 16, 2021
Kerry Fisher knows how to tell a story, not only that, how to make it real. I’m in my 60’s so it was great to meet ladies my age in life. Life isn’t always a bunch of roses. And these women who have been long term friends have had problems of their own. Married to men that they weren’t fully happy with. Showing that relationships can break down at any age, it’s not just the young. Friendship also can break down, but can the ties ever completely be severed? Other People’s Marriages. We can be disillusioned that others marriages are much better than your own can’t we, and even those with “perfect” soulmates there are flaws. But some flaws are wearable in some marriages and some can break one. Finding out secrets of your spouse is another. I loved this in the book as we get older we make different choices, simply because we know more. I wanted to believe they were wiser choices, but, sometimes I thought they were just different , not better, just from a long-lived perspective Life is tough, folk let you down in life, whether that’s on purpose or accident, but, at the end of the day….joy is there. A lovely book. A lovely story. People who have your back don’t always make the right decisions, or maybe knowledge is lacking. I loved this book.
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this ebook

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.