The Secret Child: A gripping novel of family secrets

· Bookouture
4.6
120 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

Wow, wow, wow. I am speechless as to how good this book was… A highly emotional, heart-breaking story.’ Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars


You can run from your past, but it will always catch up with you…

 

Susie was forced to do something she will always regret. Everything that led to the choice she made had to be buried and forgotten.


Her secret echoes down through the years, tainting everything it touches. Her husband wonders why his wife is so distant. Her daughters can’t understand their changeable mother.


Susie knows her past is pushing her family apart, and the guilt is eating her up, but she can’t escape from the consequences of what she has done. No-one but Susie knows the whole story, and when her daughters discover a piece of the puzzle, she must face the question she has struggled with for most of her life:


Would the truth bring them back together, or break them?

 

From the bestselling author of The Silent WifeThe Secret Child is a heartbreaking and unputdownable novel about family secrets and lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.


What readers are saying about The Secret Child:


WOW! From the very first, emotional chapter, I was hooked. And the story just kept getting better and better, more and more addictive… Brilliant author! Fabulous book!’ Renita d’Silva


The Secret Child is a powerful and emotionally charged character-driven novel. The story is heartbreaking as well as touching. I didn’t want to put the book down, for even a moment. And, this superbly written story stayed with me, long after I had turned the last page… I will read again and again.’ Write Escape, 5 stars


Will pull at your heartstrings… The characters and the stories were so beautifully written… This book will not disappoint.’ Book Nerd Anonymous, 5 stars


‘Heartfelt and emotional from the start… It tugged on my heartstrings and caused me to shed a few tears… It was everything I love in a book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘This is a very well written and compelling story, a heartbreaking tale of love, loss and lies which keeps you involved from start to finish.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


I absolutely adore Kerry Fisher’s writing and her books just keep getting better and better.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘I wanted to know how the story ended but it was so good that I wanted to keep reading… will pull on your heartstrings from every direction possible. A sure-fire bestseller.’ Sandie’s Bookshelves, 5 stars


‘A very emotional and thought provoking story… This was the first book by Kerry Fisher for me but it won't be the last.’ Twin Spin, 5 stars


So beautifully written it pulled me in and I felt my heart wrench… I didn't want it to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘A touching story of love and loss, beautifully written and emotionally charged.’ Goodreads reviewer


‘A really emotional and heartbreaking story that had me in tears on more than one occasion.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Will tug at your heartstrings from the very beginning… Kerry Fisher knows how to write a book that will pull it’s readers into the story and make them feel everything.’ Book in One Hand Coffee in Another, 5 stars


I could not put this book down all day long… What a layered, poignant, deep, beautiful story. Simply wonderful writing. I am a new fan of Kerry Fisher!!’ Are Muffins Just Ugly Cupcakes?, 5 stars

4.6
120 reviews
Jack Veal
December 28, 2017
Love all of her books. I was sad to see this one end. Well written and so relevant.
12 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Zanelenyawo Zanele
March 4, 2018
Love this book
10 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Audrey Reeve
February 11, 2018
Can't remember ever reading a book that brought me to tears with both sadness and hapiness. Got a little bored with it about halfway and annoyed with the main character but it was well reading on and couldn't put it down wanting to see how it all ended yet not wanting to finish it. Eager to start my next Kerry Fisher book.
16 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.