After the Lie: A gripping novel about love, loss and family secrets

· Bookouture
4.3
179 reviews
Ebook
314
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

I just couldn't put it down … It's not very often when reading a book that you find yourself laughing, crying snotty tears, feeling sick with tension … Yes, honestly, it really is that good.’ Being Anne Reading


OMG, do I ever like this writer. I don't usually gush … But rarely have I come across a character that I so instantly identified with … The acerbic wit is my style. I want to meet and be friends with Lydia Rushfield.’ All Words Matter


‘An absolutely BRILLIANT read! Oh Gosh I wish I hadn’t finished it so quickly … sheer perfection … gripped me like Velcro from the very start and completely enthralled and entertained me right the way through.’ Beady Jan’s Books


Your past will devastate your family. But your lies could destroy them. What would YOU do?


Sometimes a lie can split your life in two. There is “before”, and there is “after”. Try as you might – you can never go back.


When Lydia was a teenager, she made a decision that ruined her family’s life. They’ve spent the last thirty years living with the consequences and doing their best to pretend it never happened.


Lydia’s husband, the gorgeous and reliable Mark, and her two teenage children know nothing about that summer back in 1982. And that’s the way Lydia wants it to stay. The opportunity to come clean is long gone and now it’s not the lie that matters, it’s the betrayal of hiding the truth for so long.


When someone from the past turns up as a parent at the school gates, Lydia feels the life she has worked so hard to build slipping through her fingers. The more desperate she becomes to safeguard her family, the more erratic her behaviour becomes. But when the happiness of her own teenage son, Jamie, hangs in the balance, Lydia is forced to make some impossible decisions. Can she protect him and still keep her own secret – and if she doesn’t, will her marriage and family survive?


From the author of THE ISLAND ESCAPE comes a powerful and heartbreaking story, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.


What people are saying about After the Lie:


‘I absolutely loved it … Kerry Fisher goes straight away to my 'most favourite authors' list … Yes, I was touched by this book as it is one continuous roller-coaster of emotions on a very twisty track.’ Relax and Read Reviews


Five out of five stars. Past collides with present in this compelling book.' Portobello Book Blog


'This book was - in a word - addictive.'Voracious Reader's Blog


‘I loved it! A brilliantly woven, emotional, page-turning tale of the damage caused to a family by secrets and lies across the generations’ Rachael Lucas


‘Five out of five stars! This was a real page turner for me, and as the story went on I just couldn't predict how it was going to pan out. ' Dee Cees Reviews


'If you like reading about real women and a compelling family drama then this is the book for you. A terrific read.' Jane Lythell


'This book will make you laugh, frown and cry in equal measure.' Claire Dyer


'Compelling and thought-provoking' Gill Paul


'Believable, relatable and oh so real!' Jo Bartlett


'I absolutely loved it. Her voice is pure gold. I bet her shopping lists are addictive reading.' Iona Grey


Read what everyone is saying about Kerry Fisher:


Well written and pacey, stuffed full of characters you’ll warm to and a couple you won’t, and a thoroughly enjoyable experience.’ Daily Mail


‘Ms Fisher is a remarkable author with a unique voice, and one I would certainly watch out for.’ This Chick Reads


‘I really found this book compulsive reading, eager to find out what was happening next with Kerry’s writing which was inviting and down to earth.’ Rachel’s Reads

4.3
179 reviews
A Google user
May 5, 2017
Unexpected! really good read
10 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
November 7, 2017
Its so emotional
10 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Sarah Melnyk
July 27, 2017
Good read
10 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.