The Captivating Lady Charlotte

· Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace Book 2 · Kregel Publications
4.4
82 reviews
Ebook
320
Pages

About this ebook

Her heart is her own--but her hand in marriage is another matter

Lady Charlotte Featherington is destined for great things on the marriage market. After all, as the beautiful daughter of a marquess, she should have her pick of the eligible nobility when she debuts. She, however, has love at the top of her list of marriageable attributes. And her romantic heart falls hard for one particularly dashing, attentive suitor. Sadly for Charlotte, her noble father intends her betrothed to be someone far more dull.

 William Hartwell may be a duke, but he knows he was Charlotte's father's pick, not the young lady's own choice. And the captivating Lady Charlotte does not strike him as a woman who will be wooed by his wealth or title. While she has captured his heart, he has no idea how to win hers in return--and the betrayal and scandal his first wife put him through makes it difficult for him to believe that love can ever be trusted. His only hope is that Charlotte's sense of responsibility will win out over her romantic notions.

Can a widowed duke and a romantically inclined lady negotiate a future and discover love beyond duty? Will they be able to find healing and hope from the legacy of grace?

Poignant and charming, this is another beautifully written, clean and wholesome Regency romance from Carolyn Miller in the tradition of Georgette Heyer and Julie Klassen. Fans of The Elusive Miss Ellison will meet compelling new characters--and a few old friends. 

4.4
82 reviews
Becky Boerner
July 15, 2017
The Captivating Lady Charlotte is a romance set in regency England. Lady Charlotte Featherington wants to marry for love and The Duke of Hartington wants to marry someone who loves him back. He is captivated by Lady Charlotte, but is not sure if a woman can be trusted to truly love him in return after his last marriage. This wonderful book follows the twists and turns as the two navigate a relationship together and draw closer to the Lord in the process. I have been waiting to read The Captivating Lady Charlotte since I turned the last page of The Elusive Miss Ellison, Ms. Miller's last book. I have been literally counting down the days until The Captivating Lady Charlotte was released! I was not disappointed. From the moment I first opened the book to the last page I was in heaven. I enjoyed the dialogue, the romantic tension, imagining the wonderful ball scenes, the mystery and adventure. I also found myself reflecting on God's love for me and his purpose for my life as I read the novel. Carolyn Miller has a magical way of weaving in a character's faith that makes it a natural part of the story. It is not forced or an afterthought. I truly enjoyed this novel and now I must wait until fall when the third novel in the series is published. I will have to learn to bare this trial in true regency fashion.I highly recommend The Captivating Lady Charlotte. I was given this book by Book Fun(Book Club Network) and this is my honest review.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
August 4, 2018
I loved it! Perfectly balanced romance with true depictions of human nature. A very encouraging read. I especially enjoyed how it is not a typical Christian book where everyone is perfect and always reacts in a godly way, it shows that God is the God of broken people. Thank you Carolyn Miller.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
A Google user
August 10, 2018
About one-third into the story the references to bible and the characters talking with god started. Not my cup of tea. (minus one star) The story was decent - the trials of a marquess' daughter's first season. Her mother, the marchioness, was a bit overdrawn: the woman repeatedly reprimands her daughter about making a good match and that in public! There's a mystery of attacks/sabotage against the duke, which is not solved. Overall good writing, though, including the slow courtship.
2 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

Carolyn Miller lives in the beautiful Southern Highlands of New South Wales, Australia. She is married, with four gorgeous children, who all love to read (and write!).

A longtime lover of Regency romance, Carolyn's novels have won a number of Romance Writers of American (RWA) and American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) contests. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Australasian Christian Writers. Her favorite authors are classics like Jane Austen (of course!), Georgette Heyer, and Agatha Christie, but she also enjoys contemporary authors like Susan May Warren and Becky Wade.

Her stories are fun and witty, yet also deal with real issues, such as dealing with forgiveness, the nature of really loving versus 'true love,' and other challenges we all face at different times.


Her books include:
Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace
The Elusive Miss Ellison
The Captivating Lady Charlotte
The Dishonorable Miss DeLancey

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.