Lucy's Last Straw: A feel good, laugh out loud romantic comedy

· Bookouture
4.4
11 reviews
Ebook
350
Pages
Eligible

About this ebook

It was the toothpaste smeared around the sink that broke my marriage. As I rubbed it away AGAIN, I was reminded of everything else I’ve put up with these twenty-five years. My husband’s obsession with his pension, his ability to charm me into every single one of his ideas, never being taken on a romantic date, let alone ravished on the patio (like the woman who lives next door)… small things, but the realisation was huge.


Just when Lucy Jones thinks her marriage is about to screech to a halt over toothpaste, her husband, Leo, announces he wants to move to tumbledown (clapped-out) Rose Cottage, and Lucy knows she’ll be the one managing the renovations.


Then along comes gorgeous builder Will, ten years younger and the only person actually listening to Lucy. His twinkly eyes and blowtorch smile are causing Lucy to break out in a hot sweat – but is it love, lust or simply dodgy hormones that are causing her heart to flutter?


Lucy loves her husband, but everyone knows that little things build up. And then they explode. Can Lucy keep it together, or will there be one last straw she might not be able to get over?


A laugh-out-loud romp with an ending that will make you gasp! Perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Sophie Kinsella and Dawn French.


What readers are saying about Lucy’s Last Straw:

My favourite book this year… had me literally LAUGHING OUT LOUD… This book had me laughing, crying and rooting for Lucy on all the way. I loved it and recommend it for everyone!’ Being Miss Meg, 5 stars

 

Absolutely hilarious. It is so easy for any woman to relate to this book… sooooo good. I read this in just a few hours as I simply couldn’t put it down. Go and grab your copy now. It’s one everyone will be talking about this year.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Wow!... Honest, heartfelt and totally hilarious! Such an amazing read, I found myself either smiling or laughing constantly... Bl**dy brilliant!! I love it!... a must read for every woman this summer.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Made me smile, giggle and laugh out loud. I loved it and would recommend it to anyone.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Funny from the very beginning until the end, and there were some laugh out loud moments which I loved… I was reading this at 2am!... had me giggling away. I ended up reading this in one sitting, I just couldn't put it down. Thanks for one hell of a laugh Debbie!The Bookend Reviews, 5 stars


Loved this book from the very first word… It is the sort of book that I would love to be reading whilst laying on a hot beach… with so many twists and turns it keeps you hooked.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘My first read of Debbie Viggiano, and I can't wait to read more!... Entertaining from beginning to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘You will be hard pressed to not find something both lovable and relatable in the character of Lucy Jones, who is reminiscent of Bridget Jones had the latter been on HRT. I laughed my way right through this charming and addictive read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


‘Funny from beginning to end… a real laugh-out-loud book, that not only had me giggling away, but quite often nodding in recognition of some of the situations.’ A Good Book and a Brew, 5 stars


OMGoodness – what a treat… a chuckly book, with good characters and a light heart.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

4.4
11 reviews
Gaele Hi
July 20, 2019
Married over twenty years and now an empty-nester with her rescue dog, randy neighbor and husband who commutes to London to work, Lucy is finally feeling like life is settling: the kids are grown and don’t need constant management, she’s got more time to work on her small seamstress business, and perhaps there is time to just relax. Until her husband begins pushing for a ‘downsize’ as he’s worried about redundancy at work, and the cottage he’s chosen is little more than a project from the ground up. Aside from not wanting to move, Lucy’s finding that everything (and everyone) is looking to her to fix the messes – even when her husband says he’ll be there, he’s not, or he gets distracted, tied up or otherwise becomes ‘unavailable’ to help out. In fact, cleaning the toothpaste from the bathroom sink becomes her own little metaphor for the ills of her life and marriage, and it’s not being helped with her age (nearing 50), her hormones (the neighbor has suggested HRT) or her husband’s unusual attachment to the real estate agent and his ‘builder”. Lucy is acerbic, self-deprecating and wholly honest in her own interior voice, and as a narrator she’s pretty wonderful. From those little annoyances that happen in a relationship of long standing, to the complete crossed wires in communicating when you hear your partner, but don’t really listen to the words. More importantly, Lucy and Leo are supremely well paired despite neither believes they have been heard or their needs met. And when the cottage becomes a reality, and Lucy finds the builder has her reverting to her fifteen year old self, things heat up a bit, with her regular (and very harmless) fantasies and imaginings. Everything comes to a head with Leo actually finding a new jo that requires he trains in the US for a month – the same month as the construction crew is set to work on their new cottage, with Lucy in residence. With her dog. Oh – and soon, one of her daughters who discovered her boyfriend was unfaithful, soon followed by the other daughter with her partner and all their stuff as they lost the lease on their place. From two neighbors with hot pants, a fairly regular dose of Lucy behaving inappropriately and further fueling gossip and speculation, a whole lot of laughs and a moment of clear communication – things do work out for the best – to everyone’s satisfaction. Clever, honest and fun, this is a story that feels very real while reading, as you simultaneously nod your head in recognition or shake in that “thank the gods I’ve not seen / done / dealt with that” moments – it’s a fun read. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all occlusions are my own responsibility.
3 people found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Jodie
July 15, 2019
When Lucy Jones' husband Leo approaches her about downsizing their now empty-nest home, Lucy wants nothing of this. She loves the home where she and Leo have raised their 3 now adult children and doesn't want to leave it. But Leo convinces Lucy that he is soon to be made redundant, their eldest daughter is about to be proposed to and they will have trouble meeting their financial obligations. Reluctantly, Lucy agrees to sell the home and move into the dilapidated countryside Rose cottage. Life as a woman approaching 50 is stressful on it's own and Lucy feels the physical and emotional changes as most woman do. Compound this with a significant downsize in home and with major renovations in progress, a husband away from home for a month and who women are throwing themselves at, and children who suddenly need a place to stay and it's the perfect storm for a break down. This book is filled with humour and a supplies a heroine who I'd love to have as a best friend. This book is a fun read for anyone, but is perfect for those of us of a certain age. This is my first Debbie Viggiano read, but certainly won't be my last.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?
Celia Lightfoot
February 27, 2020
Impossible not to love this writer, a feel good read from start to finish. A cannot put down rolicking pick me up. It has the best of everything, romance, tears, laughter. Go for it.
1 person found this review helpful
Did you find this helpful?

About the author

 

Rate this book

Tell us what you think.

Reading information

Smartphones and tablets
Install the Google Play Books app for Android and iPad/iPhone. It syncs automatically with your account and allows you to read online or offline wherever you are.
Laptops and computers
You can listen to audiobooks purchased on Google Play using your computer's web browser.
eReaders and other devices
To read on e-ink devices like Kobo eReaders, you'll need to download a file and transfer it to your device. Follow the detailed Help Center instructions to transfer the files to supported eReaders.